Can my rig run the game?

BurgfritzBurgfritz Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145412Posts: 6Members
Hey guys just bought NS2 today but i got some problems with the game ....
its just, i got very low fps in some areas or if many players are around.. my fps are kinda like 15 to 50 ,like i said in some areas 15 in some 50.

My rig :

intel core 2 quad q6600 @ 2,4 Ghz
4 gig ram
Geforce 9800 Gt zotac
windows 7 64 bit

ive tried it on high and on low graphics with different resolutions but just kinda 1-3 fps change

i just wanted to ask : is this fps issue a problem with my rig or is it a problem by the game itself?

Comments

  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands, Hoogezand Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Posts: 11,398Forum Admins, Playtest Lead, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue mod
    edited February 2012
    Quoting myself from another thread, your PC is quite similar to mine and the FPS is to be expected. If you're able to OC that cpu, you could perhaps see an increase in FPS (I'm at 3.2Ghz). This is mainly because of the CPU bottleneck the game currently has (something which has been getting better each build, I used to be sub 25FPS during the 160-170 builds and 9-19FPS during the initial builds)


    QUOTE (Kouji_San @ Feb 12 2012, 11:10 PM) »
    Just an FYI: I get 20-35FPS with dips to 15 and peaks to 50. In the ReadyRoom its 60-90FPS, depending on amount of players in there

    Graphics settings: 1280x720 @ 512Mb Vram = Medium (although this doesn't really matter apparently)
    OS: Win 7 (used XP Pro about 4 weeks ago)
    Graphics Card: HD4850 512Mb
    Processor: C2D E6420 2.13Ghz @ 3.2Ghz
    RAM: 2Gb OCZ PC2-6400 (800Mhz) <-- In need for some more though due to Win 7, I guess...


    I assume you're using a E6420 based on your clockspeeds, if you're able to OC. I'd say OC to 3.2Ghz to get at least something playable. The game is heavily CPU bound.
    Post edited by Unknown User on

    Forum Admin "to protect and serve" Admin/Moderator I mostly use a flamethrower tank for disputes... Mostly

    Existence Unknown
    NS2-720p Playlist or on the UWE Forums, last update 11-aug-2012
    NS2: 95x1HP Skulk escapes, latest NS2 Comic #49 GAS: Newton's third law was wrong?

  • BurgfritzBurgfritz Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145412Posts: 6Members
    Ok thanks . i try to oc . otherwise i hope that it will become better and better with every build :D
  • Banzai¥Banzai¥ Join Date: 2012-02-06 Member: 143902Posts: 120Members, NS2 Map Tester
    You could try running this mod: http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/forums/in...howtopic=113246
    From there go into graphics and turn off bloom, for me it increased FPS quite well when in-game (Which was odd.)

    As to my setup, I have:
    Phenom IIx4 955 @3.6GHz
    Radeon Gigabyte 6950 OC
    12gb of DDR3 RAM
    Windows 7 64-bit

    Same performance as you, although it lept when I cut-off bloom.
  • BurgfritzBurgfritz Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145412Posts: 6Members
    thx for that mod very nice, gave me a little increase.

    i wonder about one thing: my cpu load while palying is @~50 %
    my gpu load while playing is @~90%
    dont knwo whats going on here xD
  • garvanigarvani Join Date: 2009-09-02 Member: 68678Posts: 97Members
    QUOTE (Burgfritz @ Feb 14 2012, 12:49 PM) »
    thx for that mod very nice, gave me a little increase.

    i wonder about one thing: my cpu load while palying is @~50 %
    my gpu load while playing is @~90%
    dont knwo whats going on here xD


    Thats quite easy actually. it means your GPU is bottlenecking your CPU.
  • BurgfritzBurgfritz Join Date: 2012-02-13 Member: 145412Posts: 6Members
    edited February 2012
    ah ok thanks. i was playing now got 20-60 fps thats not rly smooth but playable,i hope that it will become better and better with the next patches. :D
    Post edited by Unknown User on
Sign In or Register to comment.