How to get Decoda to break or show stack trace after C++ app has crashed?

Data01Data01 Join Date: 2012-01-08 Member: 139873Posts: 3Members
Hi, fellow indie dev Dan Tabar of Data Realms here, working on Cortex Command!
http://datarealms.com

Been loving Decoda for years now; it's an super valuable tool for us. The debugging with our project (VS2005) works great; however we are wishing to be able to somehow make decoda show exactly where in a script that caused a crash in a lua-called piece of c++ code to occur. Basically, to make it do what this article explains:
http://zeuxcg.org/2010/11/07/lua-callstack-with-c-debugger/

Specifically, to be able to pull off case #1 of the three possibilities listed in the article, so we don't have to fall back on #2 and #3!

Any tips to achieve this with decoda would be most appreciated!

Keep rocking guys, love how NS2 is turning out :]
- D

Comments

  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Posts: 1,650Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer admin
    Decoda currently has support for something like this, but it's not very reliable yet. I will play around with Cortex Command to see if I can figure out what's going on.
    Max McGuire
    Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment
  • Data01Data01 Join Date: 2012-01-08 Member: 139873Posts: 3Members
    Fantastic; thanks! Let's get in touch so I can send you latest.. i'll PM you contact info!
  • Data01Data01 Join Date: 2012-01-08 Member: 139873Posts: 3Members
    Well, i tried.. but doesn't show in outgoing messages ;p let me know if you didn't get any
  • tschumanntschumann Join Date: 2010-05-26 Member: 71862Posts: 189Members
    QUOTE (Data01 @ Jan 12 2012, 09:01 PM) »
    Well, i tried.. but doesn't show in outgoing messages ;p let me know if you didn't get any


    Did you tick the "Add a copy of this message to my sent items folder" box before you sent it?
  • That_Annoying_KidThat_Annoying_Kid Sire of Titles Join Date: 2003-03-01 Member: 14175Posts: 5,579Members, Constellation
    edited January 2012
    I bought cortex command it was challenging

    I just needed to break out my arcade stick to maximize controls apparently

    [edit]
    also golly, user ~140,000 I remember not signing up for the forums 1.02-->1.04 and it going from like 3k to 14k
    Post edited by Unknown User on
Sign In or Register to comment.