How to get Decoda to break or show stack trace after C++ app has crashed?

Data01Data01 Join Date: 2012-01-08 Member: 139873Posts: 3Members
Hi, fellow indie dev Dan Tabar of Data Realms here, working on Cortex Command!
http://datarealms.com

Been loving Decoda for years now; it's an super valuable tool for us. The debugging with our project (VS2005) works great; however we are wishing to be able to somehow make decoda show exactly where in a script that caused a crash in a lua-called piece of c++ code to occur. Basically, to make it do what this article explains:
http://zeuxcg.org/2010/11/07/lua-callstack-with-c-debugger/

Specifically, to be able to pull off case #1 of the three possibilities listed in the article, so we don't have to fall back on #2 and #3!

Any tips to achieve this with decoda would be most appreciated!

Keep rocking guys, love how NS2 is turning out :]
- D

Comments

  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Posts: 1,713Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts, Future Perfect Developer admin
    Decoda currently has support for something like this, but it's not very reliable yet. I will play around with Cortex Command to see if I can figure out what's going on.
    Max McGuire
    Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment
  • Data01Data01 Join Date: 2012-01-08 Member: 139873Posts: 3Members
    Fantastic; thanks! Let's get in touch so I can send you latest.. i'll PM you contact info!
  • Data01Data01 Join Date: 2012-01-08 Member: 139873Posts: 3Members
    Well, i tried.. but doesn't show in outgoing messages ;p let me know if you didn't get any
  • tschumanntschumann Join Date: 2010-05-26 Member: 71862Posts: 196Members Auto Verified
    QUOTE (Data01 @ Jan 12 2012, 09:01 PM) »
    Well, i tried.. but doesn't show in outgoing messages ;p let me know if you didn't get any


    Did you tick the "Add a copy of this message to my sent items folder" box before you sent it?
  • That_Annoying_KidThat_Annoying_Kid Sire of Titles Join Date: 2003-03-01 Member: 14175Posts: 5,579Members, Constellation Auto Verified
    edited January 2012
    I bought cortex command it was challenging

    I just needed to break out my arcade stick to maximize controls apparently

    [edit]
    also golly, user ~140,000 I remember not signing up for the forums 1.02-->1.04 and it going from like 3k to 14k
    Post edited by Unknown User on
Sign In or Register to comment.